On: Bruno Mars-Moonshine Jungle World Tour

It’s a wild jungle what he brought on that stage that night. March 22, 2014 was the night I’ve been waiting for for three years since he last came here in the Philippines on April 8, 2011.

Obviously, I am a fan. Just The Way You Are (a version of which he sang in his latest concert) did not make me fall for him, interestingly enough. However, it caught my attention and the moment I watched the music video for this song, I fell in love.

I’ve read once that a person should fall in love with the eyes because it’s the only thing that doesn’t change in a person. That’s what got me hooked. The way he looked at the camera that seeped in through me.

Im seated in Q9 at the VIP area. (I’ve waited three years I won’t be conservative with money.) Near enough, I thought to myself. I can clearly see the stage from my point of view. While waiting for the show to start and the lights are still on, my fellow Hooligans who I’ve met through our Facebook group and communicated with through texts talked about our Hooligan adventures and history. It was amazing how I feel very close to these people despite meeting them for the first time. I still have contact and are talking to them online from time to time.

The show was introduced by Poreotics, a dance group who danced with Bruno Mars on his The Lazy Song music video. They were good really but I’ve been waiting for three years.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Suddenly, the lights went out and the crowd went wild. The show started with a curtain patterned with coconut trees, very Hawaiian I must say. And the drums started with lights in the background and everyone started standing up. I keep telling myself that where I am is alright, “I can see the stage, I can see the stage.” I am 4’11” in height so my position is really important here.

And then the curtain dropped. All of my senses dropped as well. All I know is when the curtain dropped I saw him. His silhouette is perfect. “Hello,” Arms spread like an eagle, his fedora on his head, his feet together, “You know you look even better now than you did than before.”

moonshine intro

And he continued singing Moonshine as I went forward, nearer and nearer the stage, not taking my eyes off him, bumping to people who tries to go my way. Before the chorus, I was already by the fence by the stage.

how near

From Row Q, I was suddenly in the front but my focus was him. Then the lights focused on him, white t-shirt with vertical line patterns, brown leather vest, black pants and brown leather shoes, brown fedora. Perfect. That is how I was so near him.

jtwya crowd

The show continued with all his songs and I sang to everyone of it. There was pandemonium when Treasure was sung. My heart died when he sang “When I Was Your Man”. My panties dropped when he danced to “Ignition (Remix),” and “Show Me” and when he reached the high note of “If I Knew” with Phil Lawrence. When they sang “The Lazy Song” and it was Phil’s turn with his famous line and everyone cheered. It was the best night of my life and the best concert I have ever gone to. I am biased with love of course.

jtwya med

And then he was singing “Just the Way You Are.” I have a very strong urge to cry but I stopped myself. I allowed a teardrop but that’s it. When he let everyone sing the chorus for him and I let myself look at the crowd behind me and back to him, I know I’m right where I should be that time. It was surreal but it was reality.

sing

Suddenly, he was waving goodbye and the lights were on. I was sweaty, my voice was hoarse and I’m dead tired but I never felt more alive. I was smiling and I was speechless. My concert buddies and I grouped together and we just sat there. The arena was almost empty and we just stayed there speechless. Needless to say, the best night of our lives have happened.

As I climbed my bed that night, my roommates were out, I began reminiscing the night and the tears are flowing. The truth had just sunk in that it was all over. Then one of my concert buddies called me and funnily enough she was feeling the same thing. Before we both slept, we cried and laughed our hearts out. I watched the videos again one more time and I closed my eyes.

Yes, I’m a fan of epic proportions. How can I not be when he’s the only Bruno Mars around?
As the song goes,.. he’s amazing just the way he is.

Leave a comment